Skip to product information
1 of 3


"You're Still Here" by Dawn Riding - Limited Edition First Pressing Black Vinyl LP

"You're Still Here" by Dawn Riding - Limited Edition First Pressing Black Vinyl LP

Regular price $25.00 USD
Regular price Sale price $25.00 USD
Sale Sold out
Speakeasy 004 - In San Francisco’s Mission District, there’s a Victorian house with a garden full of towering tobacco flowers and rose vines so thick they’re pulling down the fence. Every Sunday, for a great span of 2021, songwriter Sarah Rose Janko (Dawn Riding) would join producer & engineer Alicia Vanden Heuvel (Aislers Set, Magic Trick) there, to play guitar, sing harmonies, and hum lines for other instruments, before retreating to Alicia’s basement recording studio (Speakeasy Studios SF), to roll tape on her Otari half-inch 8-track.

This is how, week by week, Dawn Riding’s new record You’re Still Here, was chipped out of the ethereal and into an expansive album of meticulously crafted and deeply captivating songs. It’s an album steeped in intimacy and warmth, each song built with a level of restraint that leaves room for Sarah Rose’s quietly fierce vocals and her powerful songwriting to sit front and center. Nothing is rushed and each song is presented almost as a vignette: some with so much stillness you can feel the relationships, some that build from the heart’s interior solitude into swells of emotional catharsis. You’re Still Here is a songwriter’s album and Sarah Rose Janko, in the tradition of great American folk musicians, is laying most of her cards on the table - endearing you to her portraits of American life, and leaving you thirsty for the stories that haven’t yet been told.
releases November 11, 2022

All songs written by Sarah Rose Janko

"You’re Still Here" marks Dawn Riding’s third full-length album, and is a co-release by The Long Road Society and Speakeasy Studios SF, two women-owned Bay Area record labels. The credits reveal a wealth of Bay Area musicians lending their talents, with multi-instrumentalist Vanden Heuvel acting as producer and musical arranger:

Sarah Rose Janko - vocals, guitar, piano
Hall McCann - electric guitar, vocals
Jasmyn Wong - drums
Alicia Vanden Heuvel - bass, organ, drums
Keenah Silver Fassett - drums
Jessie Leigh Smith - harmonica
Jacob Aranda - pedal steel, violin
Anna Hillburg - trumpet
View full details